Professor Omar Yaghi

Young Researchers Awards

Omar M. Yaghi is the James and Neeltje Tretter Chair Professor of Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley, and an elected member of the US National Academy of Sciences.

Professor Yaghi has received very prestigious awards such as AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize (2007), RSC Centenary Prize (2010), King Faisal International Prize (2015), Mustafa Prize (2015), Albert Einstein World Award of Science (2017), BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Basic Sciences (2018), Wolf Prize in Chemistry (2018), Prince Sultan bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water (2018), ENI award for Energy (2018), Gregori Aminoff Prize (2019), and August-Wilhelm-von-Hofmann-Denkmünze (2020).

SAR 20,000 for the best three graduate student speakers

Award Eligibility

  • The presenter must provide an official letter from the university and/or advisor indicating that he or she is a full-time graduate student (Master or Ph.D.) by research at the prestigious universities.

  • Must be below 36 years old

  • Must have already published a paper in the field of his or her research with his or her advisor at the peer-reviewed SCOPUS journals, and include the reference of his/her abstracts submitted to GCA2022.

  • Must have filed or granted a patent, which is based on his or her Master or PhD research current study.

  • Must have delivered concisely and precisely an original research results that fits well with the topics of GCA2022, able to answer the questions from the subject of maters during the allocated 5 minutes Q&A.

Apply for Award